Ready 2015!

Ahh, I can’t believe it’s upon us already!

So 2014 has been an absolutely insane year. When it started I was just beginning my last semester of grad school. I was living in a basement (super bad situation in the end, full of bugs and my landlady’s daughter had guests of a particular kind all the time and I paid for a ton of things I never got like a parking spot in the garage and KITCHEN RIGHTS), I was in a job with a really negative atmosphere, doing an internship that for various reasons was extremely challenging, and I was five hours away from everyone I loved.
In May I graduated and moved back in with my parents. In June I did interviews in parking lots and gas stations on my way to vacation in Florida, and I got my dream job. In July I bought a house and went to my first writer’s conference, and in August I started my dream job. In September I moved into my new house, and here we are in December.
In the midst of this chaos I wrote eight draft novels and revised two. My first short story was published in The Dark Carnival anthology from Pen and Muse Press, and I was an alternate in PitchWars with my Phantom of the Opera retelling.
So, as I was saying. An insane year.

Now I know the cool thing seems to be not really being into goals, but I can’t help it: I love goals and I adore New Years Eve resolutions. And as I look into 2015, one clear phrase keeps coming to me- Take Charge.

For those of you familiar with me, it probably isn’t that shocking that lots of people have told me I’m driven, or intense, or dedicated. Personally I sometimes don’t see it, but I also know how many dirty dishes are in my sink. Either way, I do know that I have a wee bit of a workaholic tendency and I do kind of go all in all the time in every single thing. So, oddly enough, to me 2015’s Take Charge is a call to calm down a little bit.

I’m seeking some balance, and a better mix of the things I love. Writing is awesome and the best, but this year I was so focused on churning out words that I didn’t read much or do very many fun things or anything really except work and write when I wasn’t throwing school in the mix. In 2015 I want to find some balance and relaxation and slow down a little, taking time to enjoy and cherish moments. I want to be sure that the things I’m striving so hard for really do matter to me, that I’m selecting them instead of being driven by any kind of outside forces, and that I appreciate the journey. I also want to really focus on my health, to help reduce the symptoms of my movement disorder and the impact its having on my life. I want to be a little less intense and more laid back.

With that in mind, here are my goals:

Write three books
Revise three books
Journal my writing process at least 2x/wk
Blog at least 2x/week
Develop two additional social medias (Tumblr and Instagram)
Buy no more than three books/month -this is a special challenge I’m doing, more later
Exercise 20 mins/3x per week
Cook a real meal 2x/week
Watch at least one season of 3 new shows on Netflix
Go on a trip
Do an obstacle course challenge
Get 3 massages
Get involved in something in my community
Host 6 dinner parties or other gatherings
Choose some craft and make at least two projects
Finish the basement
(Sub goal from the basement) – Finish library design
Learn a new skill

I know it looks like a lot, but many are just adjustments to what I do now or things that will feed my writing and my life both.

Okay, so maybe I’m not dialing back the intensity. I’ve always been an all in person,and Leslie Knope is my spirit animal after all. Go big or go home! But 2015 is going to be an excellent and beautiful year, and when I get excited, I just want to get to work! So in four more days, we’ll wake up to a New Year. Let’s make it All In!

3 thoughts on “Ready 2015!

  1. *High five from a fellow workaholic* ๐Ÿ˜‰ Wow, you really have had a crazy year! Eight drafts? Wow!

    Those are some great goals for next year. I’ve said I’ll try and slow down on the writing next year… but knowing me, I probably won’t. ๐Ÿ˜› I tend to go all-in, too, so balance is something I definitely need to work on.

    Best of luck with all your goals! 2015 is going to be fantastic! ^^

  2. This is a crazy-ambitious list! But it looks like you crushed 2014, so there is no reason to expect anything but good stuff out of 2015. It’ll be fun to follow along and see how things go! Happy New Year!
    -Shane

Leave a Reply

