Fleeting Wisdom

Okay, friends, here’s the thing – I buy lots of books

Lots of books.

And I love all of them dearly. I’m also a big fan of cute shoes, colorful scarves, fun things for my house, etc, etc.

And all of these things cost money.

A few years ago, I went on a spending break, and even though it was really hard, I remember it having tons of benefits – I got more creative with things to do, since I couldn’t spend money, I found clothes and books I forgot I owned since I couldn’t just buy new stuff, and I built up a very nice nest in my savings that helped me pay for grad school completely out of pocket while also paying rent and being able to afford groceries.

So, I think it’s time for a spending break for me. I had a little life change, which I’ll tell you more about on Monday – it’s good! and there will be picture! and if you follow me on Twitter you already know what it is 😉 – and with the holidays in the not so distant future, I think now is a good time. Plus I’ve ordered and preordered enough books to last me that long, easy.

I’m going on spending break from now (this post is actually being written on Sunday the 12th :)) until Thanksgiving Day. I’m giving myself that weekend off, so I can take advantage of sales for Christmas gifts and things, then going back on spending break until Christmas.

That’s a LONG time and I’m a little nervous, but I also think it’s going to be really good. I think it’s very wise for all of us to take a break, sometimes, and remind ourselves what matters, and also, that it doesn’t take money to have fun and enjoy things.

Here’s my list of acceptable expenditures from now until Christmas:

Bills and Mortgage (unfortunately, I don’t think they would enjoy my tale of practicing frugality affecting my ability to pay them)

Groceries (trying to stick to basics and keep the snacks and junk spending down to ten percent of the grocery bill)

Tithe

Gifts for others (not to exceed 20 dollars per person, since I tend to go a bit overboard)

Event fees or money for meals with friends, not to exceed 10/meal or 30/event, not to exceed three times during break

Expenses related to new life event 😉

Necessities for the house or things like toothpaste and lotion

Expenses to host a housewarming party I already have planned and up to two more group get togethers, not to exceed 75/time

 

And that’s it. That’s what I’m going to spend, and I’m going to make it a fun challenge instead of a drag because hello, fun versus drudgery is no contest.

What I’m hoping is that maybe some of you are finding you could use some saving up strategies before the holidays roll in, and you might like to join me in this little save money mission. Or, maybe just one or two of the areas above are things you tend to overspend in and you could use a little check. Let me know in the comments below if you’ll be joining me these next two months – I’ll be so, so glad to not be alone!

Leave a Reply

