Author Interview: Rebecca Paula, Everly After

Good morning my lovely friends! I am so super excited for today’s post, in which we will chat with my amazing friend and talented author hero Becka! Below you can find out all about her writing style and catch a glimpse of her forthcoming novel EVERLY AFTER!
Becka1) Describe your writing process in three sentences.
Every book is different, but generally it starts with that plot bunny that won’t be quiet. Then I write a quick draft. Then rewrite, rewrite, rewrite, until it’s polished.
2) What’s the best and worst writing advice you’ve ever received?
I had an elementary teacher tell me once that I could never be a writer because I wasn’t a strong speller. It took another teacher a few years later to tell me otherwise and to keep writing. Thank goodness for that.
The best writing advice I received was at my first writing conference. I sat in on a master class with Julia Quinn and she told the class that writing rules could be broken if done well. That was a lightbulb moment for me. Until then, no one had ever said that was okay, so I was always writing in this box, listening and writing only to those rules. I think there’s a lot of truth in writing rules and for the most part, they’re rules for a reason, but never let them cage you in from writing how or what you want to write. Write your way, the best way you know how, and don’t let writing advice become more noise that interferes with you getting words on the page. Nora Roberts has said you can’t edit a blank page, and that’s so incredibly important to remember. At the end of the day, you need to write.
3) What’s one thing you hope to accomplish in your writing career?
I hope to write a book that truly connects with a reader. My characters aren’t perfect and can be polarizing, but I think it’s important to share honest stories about the messier part of ourselves. We all deserve love, despite our flaws and mistakes.
4) What has surprised you most about your book or writing in general?

This book surprised me in that I didn’t think I’d ever wrangle this story into a bookshaped thing. Ever. I wrote it when I was 16 and have since rewrote a few times over the years. So when I sat down this past January to rewrite it again, I wasn’t expecting everything to fall in place and become the book I’ve always wanted it to be. I think that goes the same with writing in general. I didn’t think I could write a book for a very long time for a lot of different reasons. So whenever I finish another manuscript now, I’m always surprised that I did it again in the best way possible.

5) What was the hardest scene to write and why?
Everly After pushed me to have the courage to write scenes that were uncomfortable and tough. It was necessary to keep the characters authentic and as a writer, it taught me to trust me gut and go there. Without giving too much away, there’s a scene where Beckett returns to find Everly high and drunk in her apartment in Paris. It’s in her POV and it was utterly heartbreaking to write. The scene is such a cry for help from her that every time I read it, I just want to hug them both and tell them everything is going to be okay.
6) What’s your favorite part of the book?
Everly and Beckett are both a bit broken, but they also fit together in an adorable way. They’re chemistry is great and I love the quieter moments between them. I think my favorite is when they steal away from Paris for an afternoon to a french lake.
7) What’s one thing you hope readers take away?
I think this book is very polarizing, people are either going to love or hate these characters. I’m a little biased and love them both, faults included. That aside, I hope readers take away that this is a story about healing and finding your place in the world. It’s not always going to be a pretty path, but both of these characters reach a hopeful end.
Fast and fun:
What’s your-

Favorite candy – Twizzlers
Favorite musical – Phantom of the Opera
Favorite dance step – The shopping cart
Favorite breakfast food – Coffee and a croissant
Favorite book – The Great Gatsby
Life phrase – Rome wasn’t built in a day
Isn’t Becka awesome, you guys?! You can learn more about her at her website, and be sure to add EVERLY AFTER to your Goodreads!
Leave a Reply

