March Check In

Man it feels like these posts come crazy close to each other! Time is a wild thing this spring- well, always- but that’s good, it means lots going on and lots is more opportunities for amazing!

To sum up the month:

Books read: Four. (Averts gaze, directs your attention elsewhere) Two YAs, and NA, and an MG. Three I loved, and one I wanted to love but had major issues with the characters.

Words written: approximately 40,000

Projects worked on: I wrote a middle grade book this month about three siblings who are sent out to a cottage for the summer while their parents are away and encounter pirates, fairies, a mysterious nanny, mermaids, and for one of them, the secret he’s been hiding from his parents. I had such a good time with this book! I suspect the ending is far too cheesy but I can fix it later, for now I just love it 🙂 I also completed revisions on a short story. Also also I got feedback from beta readers on revisions I did last month and tidied up that book.

Incidentally I also passed my massive examination and wrote three papers this month. Just FYI.

Tips for the road: Surround yourselves with great people. No matter how much you love a book you will feel lost sometimes, and the people who will read things and give you ideas and reassurances are vital to your ability to go on.

Push yourself. If its more your style to write a few hundred excellent words in a day than a few thousand not so awesome ones, that’s fine, but if you don’t have a style or yours doesn’t seem to be working for you right now, go ahead and push yourself a little. Set some crazy goals and chase them.

Finally, don’t expect each book to be the same. My first MG I wrote at my kitchen table, in tidy 1k a day parts, and it went more or less the way I thought it would. This MG I wrote curled on the couch, in 2 and 3 and 5k bursts followed by days without words, and it took me almost a week to figure out the pivot point. It’s okay. It doesn’t mean you’re failing, that you’ve lost your mojo, or that you’ve written yourself into a corner. It’s just different.

 

How was March for you guys?

3 thoughts on “March Check In

  1. I want to read the MG book! *raises hand, waves it around*
    Yes surround yourself with awesome people! We’re on Twitter!
    Sounds like an excellent month to me!
    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. “It doesn’t mean you’re failing, that you’ve lost your mojo, or that you’ve written yourself into a corner. It’s just different.”

    I needed to hear this so badly. Thanks for the excellent post!

Leave a Reply

