Book Review: The Star Thief, Jamie Grey

Question for y’all: does it bother you that I pretty much only review books I really like? I just realized that by saying review, people might be expecting to see good and bad, but usually if I don’t like something I don’t see much point in sharing it with you guys – I’d rather flail excitedly over the ones I adore.

Unless I hear differently from you guys, I’ll just continue with the happy train.

Which, today, has a stop at The Star Thief!

starGoodreads summary: She might only be twenty-three, but Renna Carrizal is the most notorious thief in the galaxy. There’s just one problem – all she wants is to get the frak out of the business.

But when Renna rescues an injured boy from the warehouse she’s casing, she finds herself on the run from the mob instead of enjoying retirement on a garden world. Turns out, the kid was a plant to lead her to MYTH, a top-secret galactic protection agency.

MYTH needs Renna’s special skills, and they make her an offer she can’t refuse – unless she’d like to spend the rest of her life on a prison ship. To make sure she does her job they shackle her with a MYTH watchdog, the handsome but arrogant Captain Finn.

A former mercenary-turned-galactic-hero, Finn happens to have his own dirty secrets. Secrets that Renna wouldn’t mind uncovering for herself. Together, they discover an experiment to develop illegal cybernetics that will create an unstoppable army. The intended target? The human star fleet.

Now Renna must use her skills as the Star Thief to pull off the biggest job of her career – saving the galaxy. And herself.

Review: You guys, this book is something completely different from the kinds of stories I usually read, and I absolutely loved it! I’d been in a little bit of a slump of books that I liked okay but didn’t love – first world problem if ever there was one – and I had received a free e-book of this for a promotion, so I decided to give it a try. Let me stack it up for you: e-books make me dizzy, so I avoid them as a rule. I was in a reading slump and looking for a reason to put it down. I don’t read science fiction or books set in space – ever.  And, at the time, I was flat on my back with a deathly cold of death.

But The Star Thief blasted right past all the barriers and stole my heart. Right from the first page I fell into the story and couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. Renna is exactly the kind of main character I adore. She knows exactly what she wants, and she’ll do whatever she has to to achieve her goals, but at the same time she’s incredibly human and vulnerable in ways she can’t help. I love female characters who CAN do it all on their own, but realize that’s not any way to live, and have to figure out how to balance their strength with healthy reliance on others. The excitement and adventure was so fun, and I understand now why people love books set in space – Grey’s descriptions of the planets, cultures, people, and technology were incredibly believable, woven seamlessly into the story so that everything made sense, but the action never stopped for the explanation. The story had a number of delightful twists and turns, some heartbreaking moments, some very sweet and lovely encounters between Renna and the boy she’s trying to save, and the romance…wow, you guys. ROMANCE.

Right here I’ll note that I am a little old-fashioned and a couple scenes were just a little more detailed than I usually prefer, but it no way did it detract from the story or lower the quality of the writing. Just be aware those are included if you like the skim past those parts.

All in all, I really enjoyed this crazy, exciting, touching romp through space, and I seriously can’t wait for the next one in the series to come out! Even if you don’t typically read this kind of book, take a lesson from me and take a chance on The Star Thief. I think you’ll be glad you did!

greyThe Author: Jamie Grey spent most of her childhood writing stories about princesses who saved the day and pretending to be a daring explorer. It wasn’t until much later that she realized she should combine the two. Now, as a tech-obsessed gamer geek, her novels mix amazing scientific developments, future worlds, and the remarkable characters that live in them.

Jamie lives in Michigan with her boyfriend and their pets, who luckily tolerate her overspending on tea, books, and video games. You can learn more about her at www.jamiegreybooks.com, or follow her on twitter via @jamie_grey.

One thought on “Book Review: The Star Thief, Jamie Grey

Leave a Reply

