New Year’s Challenge

I’m not really super great with change. It takes me a long time to accept new things, and even longer to have any kind of fondness for them. A new year is the only new thing for which I have an abundance of excitement, and I think it has to do with the beauty of fresh starts. Every new year, I make a whole set of goals, broken into categories like school, health, faith, and writing. I am significantly over ambitious and usually only achieve about 50% success, but that’s still more than before I made the goals, right?

This year is no different. I have goals about volunteering, finishing my degree, writing books, and the ever-elusive daily exercise. But what I also have this year is an “other” category, and I’m inviting you to join me in one or more of these goals.

1) Cook with the stove or crockpot at least 2x per week.

I am a lazy person. I also share a kitchen with my landlady, who I don’t know well, which grieves my introverted soul deeply. So, my diet is heavy in microwaved foods, sandwiches, and toast. My goal is to be both healthier in what I’m making and eating as well as less of a fraidy cat in my own house by resolving to cook a real meal at least twice per week. Need a boost in your own cooking practices? Join me!

2) Keep a five-sentence journal daily.

I came up with this idea when reading some of my old journals, which are filled with things I’d forgotten and emotions I never knew I felt. I’m terrible about journaling now, but I want to start again. However, time crunches and lack of interesting events have proven to be big hurdles, so what I’m going to do is write five sentences a day. Maybe short, maybe long, maybe like a poem and maybe more of a list, but at least five per day to capture the essence of life right now. Do you need to record the world around you better?

3) Save 2000 dollars.

For your information, I work part time because of school and this is pretty much twice my normal monthly salary. However, if I’m careful to stick with just paying my bills and getting necessities, I completely believe I can save this much- I’ll just have to say goodbye to the bajillion pairs of adorable shoes and the piles of good books. It’ll be easier if you join me…

4) Write 1 letter per week or send 1 email or text to someone I haven’t talked to in at least two months.

It’s easy to lose track of friends and family, even those you care about deeply. Everyone likes to know they matter- that they’re on your mind, that they have value to you, or that you really appreciate something about them. This is a way to make sure I’m letting people know these things. Maybe people in your life need this kind of encouragement too.

 

So there you have it- a taste of my goals for 2014. Hopefully one or more resonates with you, and you’d like to join me in the challenge. If so, let me know in the comments, or follow me on Twitter – home sweet home is @jamie_adams22 – and keep me updated on how you’re doing. I’ll be posting regular updates so you can keep me accountable. Here’s to a year of beauty and change!

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Challenge

  1. I’m notorious for making lengthy and elaborate New Year’s Resolutions myself. I think this is a great list! I’ve been forced into making more food at home due to dietary issues while pregnant. I was hoping it would be less costly than going out, but due to my inability to be excited about eating the same thing every day and needing constant variety, that hasn’t quite happened lol.

    I have a new, little journal I’m keeping by my bed I hope to making into a daily (or mostly daily) life journal. I think 5 sentences is a good average to aim for. I don’t know if I’ll get around to writing every day, but I’d like to jot down things about my daily life like I did once upon a time.

    Saving money! I’m in the same boat. We are in dire need of saving up for a new place to live and maybe even a move out of our current city. Maybe we can keep e/o motivated in being thrifty. Have you ever tried couponing? My SIL swears by it and although it seems a bit extreme at times, she’s been saving hundreds, soooo can’t be too bad!

    Also like the keeping connected w/ people part. I’m adding to that by Tweeting directly to people, commenting on blog posts (see?! 😀 ) and getting over my phone phobia and calling ppl now and again even though I fear the phone like the plague.

    Happy New Year!

    1. I hate talking on the phone too! My attention span fails me when I’m not face to face with someone – major personal failure right there! I am not much of a couponer, but that’s largely because I’m super lazy about my errands and pretty much only go to the two stores closest to me 😉

  2. These are terrific goals, Jamie! I especially like sending an email to someone you haven’t talked to in awhile. It’s so good to stay in touch with people and with today’s technology, there’s really no excuse for us NOT to. Though to be honest, I love a good, old-fashioned letter in my mailbox. Something so much more real to that.

    I journal every week – some weeks I journal nearly every day, other weeks maybe just once a day. I love it. I love being able to write about my day and pour out my feelings.

    Here’s to a successful 2014!

    1. I haven’t kept a journal in so long and I’m finding I really love it! It helps me sort out my thoughts at the end of the work day and I’m finding it much easier to get on with evening tasks then once I’ve processed the first part of the day. And you’re right, I love getting letters in the mail!

Leave a Reply

