Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Reads

Y’all, this is super pathetic.

I never realized how I DON’T read scary books until I came across this Top Ten list and realized I had pretty much nothing to give you!

I literally don’t have goosebumps-on-your-skin, lock-the-doors-three-extra-times books to tell you about, but I have a few I’ve read that were suspenseful and a fun ride, so I’m going to list those for you.

At the end, YOU can fill in for my insufficiencies by giving me your best scary/thrilling/suspenseful books recommendations!

1) The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson There was some serious scary for me here, especially towards the very end…

2) The Maze Runner – James Dashner It may not be the traditional version of scary, but right from the beginning there’s such a sense of the discordant that I was on edge. Also…the Maze…

3) Alex Cross – James Patterson All of James Patterson’s books have scared the pants off of me. Though much more thriller than horror, his villains are bad enough to have dropped from the pages of the darkest kind of horror.

4) The Distant Hours – Kate Morton This more than any other doesn’t read at all the way a mystery or suspense might traditionally read, but because of the ending, it definitely ranks up in my list of scary books. The same is true for…

5) Half-Broken Things – Morag Joss  A “psychological thriller”, this book took me several days to process. I’ve read enough books that I’m not usually completely floored by things – admiring, impressed, etc. most definitely but not unable to function – and this book did it. In fact, I’m still not sure how I feel about it.

So, that’s my abbreviated list of non-traditional scary books. Y’all better help me out in the comments below.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly post brought by The Broke and the Bookish. Check out their blog for links to more Top Ten Tuesday posts (by people who have read a lot more scary books than I have!)

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Reads

  1. I don’t really read scary books either–several of my covers are books I probably never will read.

    The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff has enough horror without being too much, I think. I recommend it.

Leave a Reply

