Top Ten Tuesday: Character Names I Love

Y’all, I am SO excited about this week’s Top Ten. Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish – be sure to check out all the other great Top Ten posts!

Today is the Top Ten Character Names I Love (Or Ten Unusual Names) which I think is an absolutely awesome list to make! What is more endearing to us than a character’s name? Just that one word can bring back the whole host of memories affiliated with the book, and that is a beautiful thing. So, here are my Top Ten:

1) Augustus Waters – The Fault in Our Stars, John Green. I loved this book with all of my heart, and was fascinated by the ideas presented in it’s pages. And yes, I did and do adore Augustus. It’s a strong, slightly-old-fashioned name and fits him exactly so.

2) Eli Ever – Vicious, V.E. Schwab.  I haven’t yet ranted, raved, raged, and rejoiced over this book with you guys, but it’s coming. Believe me, it’s coming. For now, just know that I love the perfection of this name for numerous reasons, but mostly because a) I’m a sucker for male biblical names and b) Ever as a last name? Particularly as ELI’S last name? *die*

3) Anne Shirley – Anne of Green Gables, L.E. Montgomery. Talk about a name with staying power! Almost everyone everywhere knows who she is, even if they know almost nothing about her stories. These books are very near and dear to my heart, and I am firmly convinced she is my twin and, were she here, would be my best friend in the entire world.

4) Meg Murray – A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle. Get this: I am such a huge Wrinkle in Time fan that I won an essay contest about influential women with Madeleine L’Engle as my subject. I adore her writing, love the magic and mystery and adventure of those books, and still since at how much of my own awkwardness and sense of separation from the world is reflected in Meg.

5) Eustace Clarence Scrubb – The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, C.S. Lewis. “There once was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb. And he almost deserved it.” Perfection!

6) Hermione Granger – Harry Potter, J.K. Rowling. How could that name every belong to anyone else?

7) Artemis Fowl – Artemis Fowl, Eoin Colfer I think it’s something about how regal the first name is with how plain, even slightly ridiculous, the last name is.

8) Nancy Drew – Nancy Drew mysteries, Carolyn Keene. Short, straightforward, no-nonsense, just like she is. Not to mention Ned Nickerson…

9) Susan “Stargirl” Caraway – Stargirl, Jerry Spinelli I hold everything about this book dear. It is beautiful and timeless, and Stargirl has that mysterious ring of something perfectly unique, slightly tragic, but somehow joyous about it.

10) Guy Montag – Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury. His name is almost a non-name…a word that can be specific in it’s function as a name, but might just as well be describing anyone. The use of name like that, especially in a “book about books” and a story that criticizes modern living, speaks volumes.

What are your top ten names, friends?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Character Names I Love

  1. Augustus *is* a good name for him–he is a slightly old fashioned gentleman and quirky, too. Hermione is another great one–though I picked a different name from the HP series, any number of them would fit this list.

Leave a Reply

