Saturday Sidenote

So- I am really a terrible blogger. And I’d promise to get better, only we all know that may or may not happen, depending on my discipline and my average daily caffeine levels.

So, to catch you up to the present, allow me to make a few notes:

1) I have started classes again. I am now officially just one school year away from my masters degree…with the sad news being that I once again have loads of academic reading and lots of papers due.

2) I am also interning for a publishing company, reading in their submissions department! I haven’t been doing it long, but have already enjoyed the experience. If you are looking to learn more about what constitutes great writing from a stranger’s perspective, I can’t recommend it highly enough. Plus, you get to read some super cool stories!

3) I am participating in the Dark Carnival. If you haven’t heard of it and/or signed up, you definitely should! I’ve got a rough draft of my story done and have been following updates by other participants- it promises to be shivery fun!

4) I’m working on a couple short stories right now, trying to polish them up to start submitting. I’m not a natural short story writer, but I think it’s just as important to tell a well-developed short story as it is to write a powerful novel, and it’s a good exercise in the value of words. Besides that I’m revising- a topic for a whole other post- my novel, and drafting another in fits and starts.

 

And that’s really about it. Between work, internship one, internship two, class, homework, volunteering, and writing, I keep pretty well-occupied. It’s all about finding that elusive balance, which I still seek. Tell me, what do you have going on these days? In what ways do you balance the many demands on your time and attention?

Leave a Reply

