Setbacks and True Confessions

True Confessions: Haven’t written anything but a couple short-shorts for almost a week. Until today, when I started another new novel, though it’s only two chapters in.

True Confessions: I think my words are stuck.

Setbacks: The medication I am obliged to take for my illness sometimes cause terrible swelling in my hands, wrists and forearms. This has hampered EVERYTHING for almost three days. It’s finally gone though!

Setbacks: grad school. I don’t think it really requires more information than that!

Setbacks: My illness in general. I’ve been so tired I can’t concentrate on absolutely anything: not school, not work not writing. On the plus side I’ve had some inSANE dreams lately!

They say you’re only a writer if you write every day. Other people say you’re a writer if you think you’re a writer. Some people say you’re a writer if you see the world in stories. Others say you’re only a writer if you have pages and pages of words to show.

Are we still writers – artists, creators – when we have setbacks and true confessions?

Leave a Reply

