Little Dragon

I’ve decided there’s a little dragon on my left shoulder.

And no, I have not become quite suddenly delusional.

This little dragon perches up there, relatively dormant – until something happens.

A sniffle.

Suddenly little dragon is a great, huge, ROARING dragon – “Oh, was that a sniffle? You better stay home from work today, that’s a good idea.”

A sigh.

“Oh wow, you must be awfully sad. You better watch episodes of Prison Break until your eyeballs fall out.”

A stall in the writing.

“Hm, that’s a huge hurdle, you’re never getting over that. You really better just take a 15 hour nap.”

I like my dragon. I might like my dragon too much to slay it.

My dragon says exactly what I want to hear, when I want to hear it. I call the dragon George, for absolutely no reason other than it sounded like an appropriate dragon name.

It’s true name, I’m quite sure, is laziness.

Do you have a dragon that roars fire at you and at the same time offers everything you want?

How do you slay your dragon?

One thought on “Little Dragon

  1. One of the things I like to do when I go through periods of laziness in my writing is simply read well-written, gentle books. I just picked up a Richard Brautigan collection from the library today. Brautigan was a writer from the 1960s and 1970s who wrote poetry and short fiction that reads like a walk in the park with the gentle breeze blowing through your hair. I just did a post on him, if you want to check him out.

    Because really, you don’t have to slay your dragon. You just have to imagine something else.

Leave a Reply

